Ghost Stories of an Antiquary Vol 2 to be launched at Thought Bubble 2017 (plus artists announced)

Ghost Stories of an Antiquary Vol 2 will be launched at this weekend’s Thought Bubble Comic convention in Leeds.

Publishers Self Made Hero have publicly announced today the artists for this second volume on their news page and, very excitingly, two of them will be at the event this weekend.

The first story, Number 13, is drawn by George Kambadais who we previously worked with on one of our Vampire Diaries stories back in 2013. George can be found in the Leeds Town Hall Marquee, on table 61a.



Story number two, Count Magnus, is drawn by the gothiest of the goth Abigail Larson. (artwork not from this story)



The one many readers have been waiting for, Oh Whistle and I’ll Come to you, My Lad, is drawn by Al Davison.  (artwork not from this story).

Al will be in the ComiXology Millennium Square Marquee on table 30.


And finally, The Treasure of Abbott Thomas, is drawn by the incredible Meghan Hetrick. (artwork not from this story)



Ghost Stories of an Antiquary Vol 2 can be ordered now via the Self Made Hero website.

Moore & Reppion at Thought Bubble 2017

Thought Bubble, the best damn comic convention in the UK (no offence to any other cons intended), is almost upon us once again. Can it really be that a year has passed since last we comics folk descended upon the fair city of Leeds to wander its ginnels, drink all its beer, and eat all its pizza? Apparently so.

As usual the line-up for the comic con itself is ludicrously good with a list of exhibitors and guests a mile long.  Everyone will be there, including us, but where exactly will we be?

On SATURDAY 23rd we’ll be signing on the Self Made Hero table (221-223 in the ComiXology Marquee) from 10am until 11:30am.

We will be singing on the 2000AD table (5-6 Leeds Town Hall Marquee) between 1pm and 2pm, then back to the Self Made Hero table from 2:30pm onwards.

On SUNDAY 24th we’ll be taking part in the SelfMadeHero: A Decade of Comics panel (Carriageworks Studio Theatre – Fifth Floor) between 10:30am and 11:20am, we will then be signing on the Self Made Hero table between 11:30am and 12:45pm.

We will be singing on the 2000AD table between 1pm and 2pm, then back to the Self Made Hero table from 2:30pm onwards.

It also gives us great pleasure to reveal that copies of Ghost Stories of an Antiquary Vol 2 will be on sale at the convention, weeks before they arrive in any shops. More on that very soon though.

Moore & Reppion at London Film & Comic Con this weekend

Leah and I will be attending this year’s London Film & Comic Con at Olympia, Hammersmith Road, London, W14 8UX this weekend.

We’ll be there all day Saturday (9 AM until 6 PM) and Sunday until 3 PM.

All the comics folk will be on the 1st floor of the Olympia. Moore & Reppion are on table #11 (next to our Damsels artist Aneke!). If we’re not at our table then here’s where to find us:


  • Signing (Moore & Reppion)                     11 – 11:45 AM
  • Portfolio reviews (Reppion)                    12 – 12:45 PM
  • 2000 AD panel (Reppion)                         2 – 2:45 PM
  • Heavy Metal panel (Moore)                    3 – 3:45 PM
  • Heavy Metal signing (Moore)                 4 – 4:45 PM


  • Signing (Moore & Reppion)                    11 – 11:45 AM
  • Portfolio reviews (Moore & Reppion)  12 – 12:45 PM

There is a completely ridiculous line up at this year’s LFCC with guests like Benedict Cumberbatch, Kevin Smith, Alyson Hannigen, Pamela Anderson, and literally dozens of other proper household names – people your mum and dad have heard of, or the sight of whom would, at very least, make them go “Oh, it’s her off of that thing!”.

If you’re coming along, please do come upstairs and see us comics people. I believe that Rantz Hoseley and the Heavy Metal crew may have some surprise guests in store too…


Summer Solstice 2017

Today is the Solstice – the longest day – and here in the UK it’s the hottest since 1976. I like it hot, but not this hot. And so on. We’ve had grumblings of thunder and a few showers but nothing like the storm that seemed to be brewing earlier; nothing to clear this muggy air. I’ve just had to deploy a reading of Piper at the Gates of Dawn to get the eldest child to sleep. That particular chapter of Kenneth Grahame‘s book never ceases to leave me feeling spellbound, and it never fails to send the kids to sleep. A fittingly Solstice-ish bit of magic, perhaps.

by Justin Todd
by Justin Todd

Well I haven’t done one of these in ages, but it used to be that I’d try to post something here on the Solstices and the Equinoxes by way of keeping you, dear reader, up to date with what we were working on at the minute. The truth is that 2017 seems to be flying by at a genuinely alarming pace, and we haven’t yet much to show for it in real terms. We spent January and a decent chunk of February working on some pitches (one of which is huge) for things that are still “in the pipeline”, as it were. What can I actually tell you about?

Artwork has been coming in for Ghost Stories of an Antiquary Vol 2, but I’m afraid we’re not allowed to tell you who our artists are yet. Sorry.

We’ve got a second series of Storm Warning coming up in the Megazine in the next few months, but again I can’t say who our artist will be as yet (we’re not sure ourselves as I type).

Leah has written a little something for Heavy Metal, which should to be turning up in the next, or following, issue.

We’re collaborating with Sally Jane Thompson on that Dark Horse book we seem to have been talking about for years and years now.

We’re also working on a couple of new series for Dynamite Entertainment after a few years, and that’s nice.

I’m sure I’m forgetting loads of things. There are loads of partly done things, things we’re waiting to hear back about, things people have asked for when we get a chance, etc. We seem to be busier than ever (although I always seem to say that). Come the Autumn though, you should start to see new stuff coming out from us on a fairly regular basis though by then we’ll already be panicking about a completely different set of stuff.

The summer is here and life is good. It isn’t easy, but it’s good. We’ve lots to be thankful for, so let’s give thanks and enjoy what we have while we have it. Happy Solstice to you and yours.

Folklore Thursday – Warren Ellis, Maria J. Perez Cuervo, and Damien Williams interviewed about Spirits of Place